Sub Logo

Dr K K Aggarwal

On 9th Navratri Enjoy the Spiritual Powers

By Dr K K Aggarwal
Filed Under Spirituality - Science Behind Rituals | Tagged With: , , | | Comments Off on On 9th Navratri Enjoy the Spiritual Powers

Siddhidatri is worshipped on the Ninth Day of Navratri. She gives all the eight siddhis – Anima, Mahima, Garima, Laghima, Prapti, Prakamya, Iishitva and Vashitva. She rides on a lion or on a lotus. She has four hands and looks pleased.

Spiritual mantra on the 9th Navratri

By the 9th day of spiritual detoxification one gets all spiritual powers.

On the 8th Navratri, Enjoy a purified mind

By Dr K K Aggarwal
Filed Under Spirituality - Science Behind Rituals | Tagged With: , , , , | | Comments Off on On the 8th Navratri, Enjoy a purified mind

On the 8th Navratri, Enjoy a purified mind

Maha Gauri is worshipped on the 8th day of Navratri. SHE looks as white as moon and jasmine. White means purity of mind. She has three eyes and four hands. SHE is dressed in a white sari. SHE holds a drum and a trident and is often depicted riding a bull (control over the desires). Her upper left hand is in fearless pose and she holds ‘Trishul’ in her lower left hand. Her upper right hand has tambourine and lower right hand is in a blessing Mudra.

Spiritual mantra on the 8th Navratri

By the 8th day of spiritual detoxification, once gets purity of mind.

On 4th Navratri Be Happy in All Situations

By Dr K K Aggarwal
Filed Under Spirituality - Science Behind Rituals | Tagged With: , , | | Comments Off on On 4th Navratri Be Happy in All Situations

Kushmanda is worshipped on the fourth day of Navratri. SHE shines brightly with a laughing face.

Out of eight hands (Ashtabhuja), she carries weapons like bow, arrow, discus and mace in four arms.

In other three hands, she holds a lotus, a beaded rosary and a Kamandalu. In the remaining hand, she carries a jar of nectar.

SHE rides on Lion. Rosary represents her power to bless her devotees with Ashtasiddhi (eight types of studies or wisdom sources) and Navanidhi (nine types of wealth). In Ayurveda SHE represents the control over the air element.

In Yoga Shastra SHE represents the heart or Anhata Chakra with the Bija sound YAM.

Spiritual mantra on the 4th Navratri

One should continuously (beaded rosary) control the air (anahata plexus) within us by using our sharp intelligence (sword) and balancing the mind (Trishul) by focusing on one point (arrow and bow), practicing detached attachment (lotus), accepting things as they are (Kamandalu), keep smiling in both acceptable and difficult situations (smiling face) and killing the negative energies by using discus (power) when needed.

On 7th Navratri Enjoy A Mind Devoid Of Inner Darkness

Filed Under Spirituality - Science Behind Rituals | Tagged With: , , | | Comments Off on On 7th Navratri Enjoy A Mind Devoid Of Inner Darkness

Kalaratri is worshipped on the Seventh Day of Navratri. She is dark and black like night. Her hairs are unlocked. SHE has three eyes and four hands.

She holds a sharp Sword in her right hand and blesses her devotees with her lower hand. HER vahana is a donkey, destroyer of darkness and ignorance (or shava). She spills out fire from her nostrils. She has put on necklaces shining like lightening. In Yoga Shastra she represents the Sasahara Chakra

Spiritual mantra on the 7th Navratri

By the time chanting of Bija mantras LAM, VAM, RAM, YAM, HAM and AUM is over the inner darkness goes over.

One day someone asked me why Muslims and Hindus fight with each other when they worship each other’s GODS. Hindu worship ALI in DIWALI and Muslims worship RAMA in RAMAZAN. Diwali and Ramadan both have one thing in common and that is one month of spiritual Yagna.

In Hindu spiritual Yagna, the process starts from first day of Navratri on Amavasya and ends up on Diwali, again on Amavasya. The first 10 days involve intense spiritual practice and the rest 20 days entails receiving its benefits.

The first nine days, called Navratri are devoted to a process of purification and detoxification of mind, body and soul. During this period a person is required to lead a Satwik spiritual life devoting first three days into activities, which reduces negativity in the mind and the body; the next three days he is supposed to indulge in positive behavior and happenings and in the last three days he is supposed to read and learn about spiritual positive things in life.

Respectively, these three phases of purification are symbolized as worshiping the Goddesses, Kali, Laxmi and Saraswati. The spiritual purification process involves eating only Satwik food, one which is offered to God, and following the principles of Satwik lifestyle which are Satwik Ahaar, Satwik Vichar, Satwik Vyavahaar and Satwik Achaar. There is a custom of worshiping wheat and barley grass during this period. They are detoxifying grasses when consumed in the form of juices. The Satwik fast observed during this period helps in cleansing the internal body.

Once the nine days purification process is complete, on 10th day one gets the first benefits symbolized with Vijaydashmi as one conquers on that days a victory over Tamas (Kumbhakaran), Rajas (Meghnad) and Ego (Ravana). The victory over the Ego entails the ruling of Satwa (Vibshishan) and reunion of Mind (Lakshamana), Body (Sita) and Soul (Rama).

As per the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali when one attains an ego free mind one is likely to get benefits over a period of time.

The first benefit is seen on the fourth day after Vijaydashmi, on Sharad Purnima, a day known for health benefits. People on this day gather in the night and eat kheer rich in moon rays.

Again after four days on the day of karvachauth one gets benefit of the longevity of the spouse which gives safety to the family. On this day all married women fast and prey for their husbands.

Four days later on “hoi ashtami” one prays for the longevity of their children. This ensures old age protection for the family.

Four days later again on “dhanteras” one gets the benefit of wealth. On this days people worships silver items. On this day no dealings are done and people spend only to invest of silver and gold items for future needs of the family.

By this time the person, who has indulged in the process of purification, learns the true purpose of his or her existence. The inner ignorance and darkness goes away and one gets the true meaning of wealth and that is inner happiness. The day it happens it is called Diwali where on the day of Amavasya (darkness) one gets internal lighting (Diwali).

Diwali, therefore, is a one-month long spiritual Yagna with nine days of purification and 21 days of acquiring spiritual benefits out of it.

Ramadan similarly involves a deep intense purification process of mind, body and soul. In Christians the similar spiritual purification process is celebrated as Easter.